I Love Junk

Not Dead

Posted on: August 9, 2010

So, the return of both Matt and Annette to fairly regular blogging has prodded me to wanna post something here. I really do love having a blog for humor/pop culture stuff, and I miss writing on it. I still don’t really have any content to add here, but I figured I’d at least explain where I’ve been.

There’s a few good reasons I haven’t been blogging here:

1) I had big plans for a Halloween countdown/megaparty/other-word-less stolen-from-Matt last October. I got exactly one post into that countdown before my mother had a heart attack and died. This whole year I’ve been trying to recover from that. I don’t think I’ll ever be over that, but I’m at least slowly starting to feel like a human being again. Still, there’s nothing quite like losing your mom to kill your fun/humor blogging mojo.

2) And yet, I have been spending a LOT of time this year concentrating on more serious writing, mostly pertaining to hippie shit none of you care about and may find infuriating. Which is why I don’t generally share it here. (On the off chance you do care about hippie shit, my other writing is here.) So yeah, all my blog-juice has been going into my other blog.

3) Except for a few brief stints here and there, I’ve been unemployed since April 2009. You’d think being unemployed and bored would result in *more* blogging, but since this blog is about toys and junk food and media, and my access to all of those is significantly limited right now, the well runneth dry. I can only write so much about random crap I find lying around my house, and I really do not want to be one of those people who just links to shit I find on Youtube.

4) Much as it pains me to say it, I seem to be growing up. I am almost 25 years old. I started this blog when I was 22. That doesn’t sound like a big age gap, but if you think about it, it’s the difference between being barely old enough to drink and being able to see 30 on the horizon. I still mostly feel like a kid, but I can also feel my thoughts being pulled toward settling down, having kids, caring how my house looks, and various other boring adult shit. Kerplopitgoes Island is calling. Although apparently I am not too far gone, since I’m using Rocko’s Modern Life references to describe adulthood. But the point is, spending all my money on toys and candy and stuff isn’t as appealing as it used to be.

5) Let’s face it – we’re not in a great era for junk right now. The economy is still in the shitter, people are becoming more conscientious about food choices and consumerism, and there’s a disturbing “fun is a waste of time” mindset creeping through American culture as a whole, even (or perhaps especially) with regard to kids. All of this is bad for toys, games, junk food, cartoons, and goofy frivolous shit in general. We are just not living in the era of blue french fries and purple ketchup anymore 😦 (On the other hand, thinking about this makes me want to blog here more just out of rebellious spite, so perhaps this can work to my advantage.)

There’s also a few not-as-good reasons I haven’t been blogging here:

1) I feed heavily off X-E for inspiration, and during the off-season (and let’s face it, X-E is a very seasonal website – which I frankly am fine with, because I share Matt’s overall sentiment that late winter and spring are boring) I just don’t feel super junk-oriented.

2) I always feel like I write about the same crap over and over again. I know y’all are tired of Star Trek and Michael Jackson. Even I am.

3) Anytime I want to write about something nostalgic, I become overwhelmed with Simpsons-Already-Did-It Syndrome. Oh, Matt has an article about this. Oh, Mystie already covered that. The Angry Video Game Nerd has a video about that game, the Nostalgia Critic has a video about this cartoon, everyone will think I am ripping them off, yada yada. Kinda kills the fun.

4) A lot of my childhood favorite things are actually from the 60s or 70s, or even earlier, and I assume this stuff will bore everyone.

So I know it’s pretty lame to make a return post just to make excuses for never blogging, but I felt like getting all that off my chest. That being said, I really do want to use this blog more. If nothing else, I think lightening up a bit would be very healthy for me at this point, and this is a good outlet for that. The good news is, I’m in the middle of some life changes that will make my life less monotonous, and that will undoubtedly give me more to write about.

2 Responses to "Not Dead"

Dude, if you wrote about 60s/70s stuff I would read and enjoy it.

I don’t think you should have to apologize. I have big gaps that go for months where I don’t write anything. You feel inspired when you feel inspired, and that’s that. So sorry to hear about your mom, and your job situation. I spent a year unemployed before I ended up where I am now, and there’s not a fun thing about it, so I sympatize with you there. I’ll be checking in periodically regardless, so I’m looking forward to whatever you come up with. I’m 32 (got 33 coming up in a couple of months), and I can definitely relate to the 60’s and 70’s nostalgia stuff. A lot of that was still around when I was a kid, so bring it on.

Leave a comment

August 2010
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031